top of page
Search

18 // Many Moons / James Thurber, Ill. Louis Slobodkin


Many Moons / James Thurber, Ill. Louis Slobodkin

  • Voyager

  • 1943

  • Though many try, only the court jester is able to fulfill Princess Lenore's wish for the moon

  • Fictional story to go along with studying outer space, the moon etc. A modern fairy tale for studying fairy tale structure.

  • I love the story of this book more than the illustrations to be honest. I know these are the original ones that won the Caldecott, but I like the more defined quality of the Marc Simont illustrations better. Slobodkin's illustrations feel loose and watery to me, and don't do the beautiful story justice. I love the story as a modern fairytale that follows the rules of fairytales. The Wise are not as wise as the Fool or the Small Child. Things come in threes, and there's a general etherealness to this story that stays with me. I feel peaceful coming to its end as the princess falls asleep.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page